The multimedia program, titled "The Art of Effective Communication," presented a piece of communication in three different formats: email, voicemail, and face-to-face. Although my interpretation of the message did not change too much based on the method of delivery, the way I received it definitely did. 

Picture
For example, I did not feel a sense of urgency when I read the email piece.  A time frame of “soon” is ambiguous.  Jane should have provided Mark with a deadline (specific date and time she needs the report by).  Since the message is not flagged with “high importance,” is Mark to assume that “soon” could mean any time in the next few days – or longer? In addition, I would imagine Mark could be left wondering what specific data Jane needs (she doesn’t clarify this in her email) to complete her report if he cannot supply her with his complete report.



Picture
I found the face-to-face scenario to be extremely annoying.  In this scenario, Jane comes across as less than confidant (I noted several “ums” and hesitation in her speech) and, at times, she is downright condescending in her tone/body language (rests/crosses her arms on Mark’s workspace and literally points her finger at him when she says “your report”).  In this example, Jane demonstrates unprofessional behavior that is distracting from the message she is attempting to convey.


Picture
The voicemail best conveyed the true meaning of the message.  
The content was the same (lacked certain details that would have been helpful), but the tone and inflection Jane used in her message clearly and effectively emphasized key words that conveyed a sense of urgency without being demanding or condescending.  If I were Mark, I would contact Jane by phone or email upon listening to the voicemail so I could fill in the gaps regarding her deadline and/or provide her with the specific data she needs to complete her project.    


Email is a convenient form of communication in the workplace.  It’s easy to send an email to a coworker without much interruption in one’s current task(s) and this format allows the recipient to reply when it is most convenient.  It also provides documentation of the conversation (Laureate Education, Inc., n.d). The main drawback to this form of communication is that the recipient may not fully understand the true meaning of the message because written text does not provide any verbal or face-to-face component.  One way to combat these limitations is to format emails with short sentences and insert line breaks between points/topics rather than present the content in extended paragraph form.  

Where I work, we generally do not approach another person’s workspace without sending an initial email to verify his or her availability. If we do approach someone directly, it is standard protocol to ask – before anything else – “Is this a good time?” or “Do you have a few minutes?”

Although spoken conversation is generally more casual than written communication, it is important to keep the tone of all communications business friendly and respectful. Being clear, concise, and focused helps keep people on track. Also, paying attention to non-verbal communication cues (spirit and attitude, body language, timing of something, and the personality of the recipient) helps to ensure effective communication among team members (Laureate Education, Inc., n.d). 
Reference

Laureate Education, Inc. (n.d.). Communicating with stakeholders [Video file]. Retrieved from https://class.waldenu.edu/webapps/portal/frameset.jsp?tab_tab_group_id=_2_1&url=%2Fwebapps%2Fblackboard%2Fexecute%2Flauncher%3Ftype%3DCourse%26id%3D_3398237_1%26url%3D
7/19/2013 09:13:25 am

I agree that email is a very convenient form of communication. I claimed that it is useful for short, or broad based thought and ideas you want to communicate. Although, I tended to disagree with you on the face to face transaction. Yes, you have to keep a professional demeanor, and this includes body language. I find it easier to cognitively retain the information if someone tells me no matter how annoying their presentation of the information.

Reply
Jenn
7/19/2013 10:23:34 am

Hi David,
Thanks for commenting on my blog post. I do agree with your reasoning that f2f interactions (combination of audio and visual) can make it easier to retain information. The way I read the prompt for this assignment was to focus on the true meaning of the message. Jane's tone and body language in the f2f example was very distracting to me and I paid little attention to what she was saying. If I think back to my undergraduate days, I know I paid close attention to those professors who had great delivery and tuned out those who bored or annoyed me. So, while I agree with you generally, I cannot say that my personal experience with this particular example was like yours. - Jenn

Reply
Ron Stevenson
7/20/2013 03:33:43 am

Hi Jennifer,
I enjoyed your blog posting; it is well organized and easily read. You added some insights this week in the face-to face contact that I did not pickup on, such as the finger pointing. I think just like in the email and voice applications there are business standards and finger pointing along with others are not a good idea. I find my communication through email and voice mail tends to be very direct and to the point, although I tend to be more casual in my face-to-face communications. I understood Jane’s message in each of the communications, but felt her tone could have been better in all of them.
Thanks Ron

Reply
Jenn
7/21/2013 07:21:49 am

Hi Ron,
Thanks for commenting on my post. I agree with you that the tone could have been better in each of the examples. When I interact with resources like this, I sometimes wonder if the IDs did certain things on purpose (to get us talking more about the nuances). -Jenn

Reply
7/21/2013 12:46:03 am

Very nice post Jenn. I especially liked how you incorporated the screenshots of each communication medium next to your comments. I also agree with your comments in that the email was ambiguous and confusing. The face-to-face was forced, one sided and slightly unprofessional (I thought it was too artificial in general), and that the voicemail was the most effective of the three. I'm not sure I expected the voicemail to be the most effective form in general. I would have thought that face-to-face is almost always the most effective form of communication.

This, to me, demonstrates a real shift in how we approach communication in our society today, be it for personal or professional reasons. As you pointed out, sending an email first has become a courtesy in your workplace, and I would say that is very common in most organizations now. This too (in my opinion) represents a shift in communication "norms" and is symbolic of how technology plays a part in our workplace and in our everyday lives. In fact, most of the communication I receive at home now is either via email or text. Blogs, Facebook, Twitter, texts and emails have taken the place of letters, phone calls, people just "stopping by to say hello" and other antiquated forms of communication. I wonder how it will be 20 years from now. Again, great post!

Reply
Jenn
7/21/2013 07:38:13 am

Hey Terry,
Thanks for commenting on my post. After reading several classmates’ blogs, I discovered my thoughts on the scenarios were in the minority. Like you, I was not expecting to select the F2F scenario as the most effective. I did review each of the vignettes several times before writing my post, and I remember thinking (even the first time I watched the F2F scenario), “This is really annoying!” But then, I had to re-watch it several times so I could explain why I found it so annoying. I think we tend to be more casual in our F2F interactions – and this is usually fine. However, in business situations, it’s important to be professional – no matter what format the communication takes.
Also like you, I have noticed shifts in communication norms. My mother (who is not very techy) has been texting for years, and she recently gave up her landline because she never used it. My 90-year-old grandmother also has a cell phone (but doesn’t text because she can’t see very well), a computer (she can make the text bigger to compose and read emails), and she TiVos like no one else I’ve seen! I have no idea what the next 20 years will bring – I just hope my son and future grandkids think I’m technologically hip when I get there! ☺
-Jenn

Reply
KN Koch
7/21/2013 11:17:35 am

Great Post Jenn :O)

Thank you for pointing out the F2F communication cues, such as the finger pointing (which Ron noted) that I did not pick up on. I enjoy learning from our posts and discussions the various perspectives that are not necessarily the same as myself.

I like that you shared your office availability rule. I have no experience working in office space, so I wonder if you happen to be walking in the area of a colleague and "stop by." In your experience, how is that looked upon or taken?

Thank you in advance for your insight and perspective.

Karin :O)

Reply
Jenn
7/21/2013 02:14:16 pm

Hi Karin,

I also found it interesting as I read through other classmates' blogs. We all engaged with the same content, but many of us interpreted the scenarios very differently.

To answer your question about "stopping by" the workspace of a colleague...

At my company, scheduled meetings are more the norm than unplanned ones. Of course, we do converse in the break room, on elevators, and when we see our workmates in other common areas – but these conversations are usually very casual and may not have anything to do with work itself. For unplanned F2F work topics, the usual protocol is to ask the coworker if it is a good time or if he/she has a few minutes to discuss the topic.

I like this approach because 1) it demonstrates courtesy and respect for the recipient and 2) if it is not a good time, then I don’t want to intrude on the person’s time or encroach on his/her space (the conversation would probably not be as productive anyway). I can always send a quick email (for something simple) or send an Outlook meeting invite (for something more involved). If there are pertinent documents that relate to the topic, I usually send those along as attachments so the recipient can review them when it is convenient but keep the body of the email itself clear, concise, and focused. No one likes to be hit with a wall of text!

I hope I’ve answered your question effectively. Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog post. ☺

-Jenn

Reply
7/21/2013 01:51:32 pm

Well written. I agree that the urgency is not communicated. If the e-mail had been point by point would it have conveyed the information to better get the information as needed? You have a great blog here.

Lisa

Reply
Jenn
7/21/2013 02:56:36 pm

Hi Lisa,

Thanks so much for your comments. It’s interesting that you ask about the formatting of the email. Initially, I started reformatting the email and was going to include the revised version as an example in my post. The revision didn’t make it into my blog because I did notice that there were other issues (e.g., missing information and an ambiguous timeframe) that affected the clarity of the overall message as well as its sense of urgency.

To answer your question...

Yes, I do think some reformatting could help, but I also think the content needs a general reworking to be truly effective in conveying the intended message.

-Jenn

Reply
7/21/2013 07:29:59 pm

Jenn,

I like the comments you made. I believe that most of have the same or similar reactions. Some thought all of them were effective, as in each case, it was a business-like request. I hope he or she paused through each of the methods, as requested. I shall keep this short, as already I see more than a few comments for you on this. Good job, and good night,

Rob Talbot
[email protected]

Reply



Leave a Reply.